Updated

Screen recorders with auto-zoom: 9 compared

Nine screen recorders will add zooms for you from your clicks, so you never set a keyframe. They differ mainly in where they run and how you pay. Three have a free version, two are mainly browser extensions, and the one-time prices run from $49 to $199.99.

We make AutoZoom, so read what we say about it with that in mind. Every price and platform below comes from the vendor's own site.

Auto-zoom in a recording made with AutoZoom. The zooms follow the clicks.
Auto-zoom in a recording made with AutoZoom. The zooms follow the clicks.

What auto-zoom is

A plain screen recording shows the whole screen the whole time. On a phone, or in a small player on a web page, the part that matters is too small to read. Auto-zoom fixes that by moving the frame for you. It zooms in where you click or type, follows the cursor, and pulls back when you move to another part of the screen.

Without it you get the same result by hand: open the recording in an editor, find each moment, and add a zoom keyframe. That takes far longer than the recording itself. The tools on this page exist to remove that step.

The nine, side by side

AutoZoom is listed first because this is our site. The rest are in alphabetical order.

ToolRuns onOne-time priceSubscriptionFree option
AutoZoomWindows 10/11, macOS 10.15+$69 (3 devices, all future updates)$7.99/monthNo free tier
CANVIDWindows, macOS$75 (up to 3 devices)$84/yearFree to try, export needs a licence
CursorfulChrome extension, plus Windows and macOS apps$79 Pro (2 desktop devices)NoneFree browser extension, non-commercial use
FocuSeeWindows, macOS$199.99 (up to 5 devices)$49.99/year (1 device) or $79.99/year (up to 3)Trial with one free export
RapidemoWindows 10/11 only$199 (3 PCs, 1 year of updates)$9/month billed yearlyFree to try, export needs a licence
RecordlyWindows, macOS, LinuxFreeNoneFree and open source
Screen StudiomacOS onlyNot sold to new customers$9/month billed yearly, or $29/monthNot stated
TellaWindows, macOS, Chrome extensionNoneFrom $13/user/month billed annuallyNot stated
ZumieChrome extension$49NoneFree tier

Prices checked on each vendor's own site. Each name links to the page the figures came from.

Which one fits you

  • You record on Windows. AutoZoom, CANVID, FocuSee and Rapidemo are desktop apps built for it. Recordly is the free option.
  • You record on a Mac. Everything here except Rapidemo. Screen Studio is Mac-only.
  • You want something free. Recordly for desktop apps. Cursorful's extension or Zumie's free tier for browser tabs.
  • You want to pay once. Zumie, AutoZoom, CANVID, Cursorful Pro, Rapidemo and FocuSee, in price order. Screen Studio and Tella are subscription only.
  • You are on Linux. Recordly, or Cursorful and Zumie in Chrome.
  • You want hosting and team features. Tella, which is sold per user.

The tools

AutoZoom

A desktop recorder for Windows 10 and 11 and macOS 10.15 or later. It zooms on clicks and cursor activity, adds motion blur, shows clicks and keystrokes, and can caption or voice the recording. Exports are MP4 or GIF at up to 4K and 60 fps. $69 once covers up to 3 devices and all future updates. There is no free tier.

CANVID

Runs on Windows and macOS and zooms on every click. It adds automatic subtitles and one-click audio cleanup, and can share a link through its own cloud. $75 once, or $84 a year for the plan with unlimited cloud storage. CANVID and AutoZoom compared.

Cursorful

A free Chrome extension that records browser tabs with automatic zoom and pan, for non-commercial use. Cursorful Pro adds desktop apps for Windows and macOS and commercial use for $79 once. Cursorful and AutoZoom compared.

FocuSee

Made by iMobie, for Windows and macOS. Automatic zoom follows clicks and typing, and it adds a teleprompter, automatic subtitles and an AI avatar. From $49.99 a year for one computer, or $199.99 for a lifetime licence. FocuSee and AutoZoom compared.

Rapidemo

Built only for Windows. It zooms on clicks, smooths the cursor and has a timeline editor for adjusting zooms. You can use it for free and pay when you want to export: $9 a month billed yearly, or $199 once with a year of updates. Rapidemo and AutoZoom compared.

Recordly

Free and open source, for Windows, macOS and Linux. It adds zooms automatically, lets you adjust them on a timeline, and exports MP4 or GIF. It is the place to start if you do not want to pay anything.

Screen Studio

A Mac app. It zooms on what you clicked, adds motion blur and cursor smoothing, and can record an iPhone or iPad over USB. It only runs on macOS and is sold by subscription: $9 a month billed yearly, or $29 a month. Screen Studio alternatives for Windows.

Tella

Has apps for Mac and Windows and a Chrome extension. It pairs automatic zoom with hosted video pages, so it suits teams that share recordings by link. From $13 per user a month, billed annually.

Zumie

A Chrome extension that zooms on every click. It has a free tier and a $49 one-time licence, the lowest paid price here. Like any extension, it records the browser.

How auto-zoom works in AutoZoom

You record as normal. AutoZoom detects what you do on screen and zooms smoothly into clicks, cursor movement and other actions, with motion blur on the movement. If a zoom is not what you wanted, you can change its level, speed and timing in the editor, or add a zoom segment by hand.

Frequently asked questions

What is auto-zoom in screen recording?

Auto-zoom means the recorder changes the framing for you. It zooms in where you click or type and back out when you move on, so you do not add keyframes in a video editor.

Does any free screen recorder have auto-zoom?

Yes. Recordly is free and open source on Windows, macOS and Linux. Cursorful's Chrome extension is free for non-commercial use, and Zumie has a free tier. Those last two record in the browser.

Which auto-zoom screen recorders work on Windows?

AutoZoom, CANVID, FocuSee, Rapidemo, Recordly and Tella all have Windows apps, and Cursorful Pro includes one. Screen Studio is Mac-only.

Which auto-zoom screen recorders have a one-time price?

As of October 2026: Zumie at $49, AutoZoom at $69, CANVID at $75, Cursorful Pro at $79, Rapidemo at $199 and FocuSee at $199.99. Screen Studio and Tella are subscription only.

Can I change the zooms after recording?

In AutoZoom, yes. You can change the zoom level, speed and timing in the editor, or add zoom segments by hand. Rapidemo, Recordly and Screen Studio also document editing zooms after recording.

Try auto-zoom on your own recordings

AutoZoom runs on Windows and macOS. $69 once for up to 3 devices, or $7.99 a month.